Good Reads of the Week

by perpetualflaneur

Because I haven’t shared any of the books I’ve read in the past yet, here is something new that I’ll be posting on my blog. I have decided to start sharing whatever I have read or will read weekly, since my schedule permits it. So, here are four wonderful works that I have and will read before the end of this week. This is the beginning of new posts about books that I enjoy!

So, without further ado, here are the photos of this week’s reads! If you are quite curious about any of them, please do grab a copy!

20120608-150819.jpg

The first one, a political book about language and framing for progressives, is by UC Berkeley Professor George Lakoff (a great guide for progressives and anyone who is leaning towards being one and for those who are truly interested in politics here in the US).

20120608-150840.jpg

The second one is Maya Angelou’s moving autobiography about her early days of childhood (I laughed and cried while reading this. Her writing is touching and very poetic as expected.)

20120608-150904.jpg

The third work is by Anne Carson (the renowned author of Autobiography of Red, one of my favorites too!) that explores the nature of eros from Greek Literature and philosophy (a really, really, wonderful read if you are into poetry and greek literature and of course, the subject matter as love or eros does not fail to seize one’s attention).

20120608-150922.jpg

Lastly is Vladimir Nabokov’s controversial work Lolita, which I find to be disturbingly interesting (a well-written work with a very hard to grasp topic, especially nowadays).

