What the Universe is Telling Me

by perpetualflaneur

Last Sunday, we were all graced by the presence of a solar eclipse. Regardless of one’s location, visible or not, the online community shared their thoughts and photos while the eclipse was ongoing. Actually, with so much anticipation, I felt as if everyone shared a common interest, perhaps emphasizing how everyone here on earth is living in a larger community.

Though I didn’t have proper or even improvised gear, I tried glancing at the sun. Much to my dismay, and quite obviously, my attempt caused a discomfort to my eyes. So, yes, even though I’ve been warned, I still did it and dear that was a mistake. But of course, that discomfort didn’t hinder me from basking at this very sight.

Events like these make one ponder on, around, and about the universe (or multiverse) and life on earth in the grandest scale. It makes one ask the simplest  to the most complicated of questions. How many lunar or solar eclipses have you witnessed in your lifetime? Which ones do you vividly remember? Where were you and what were you doing? What am I here for if I am this small to this world? Well, maybe this should be a time of introspection.

Many years ago, when I was still in kindergarten, I remember my very first solar eclipse. I was in my neighbor’s house equipped with nothing but a water-filled pale. Under this cosmic event, on broad daylight, I reveled in it’s reflection. It was majestic. As young as that age, I felt a rush of curiosity, appreciation, and wonder towards the world we are in–the very same ones I still have today.

A few years back, there was what we all had called the “red moon.” It was another one of those cosmic shows where everyone was thrilled to their tiny toes. I was overseas then, so I had seen the entire event happening in North America via live stream (ah the beauty of the Internet). Even then, as I was seated ecstatically, the universe, with all its grandeur, never failed to mesmerize and arouse my curiosity. How beautiful, how grand can this universe be!

Just last year, while overseas again, I witnessed a lunar eclipse. Having no one else to view it with, I went out of the house and to the garden gazing up in the sky. I was really surprised how very few people cared about this event. How can anyone not be amazed by this? At that point, I knew that the universe is trying to tell me something, or at least I interpreted it that way.

Earlier this year, while on a small trip, the universe exhibited it’s prowess yet again: a meteor shower. Yes, it can be romantic for all of us here on earth. For the first time then in my short life, I saw what we all call “shooting stars.” And in line with popular tradition, I made a wish every time I see one. As far as I remember, I’d seen at least seven of them, and of course, it definitely made my night.

From what I can recall, these instances were truly filled with wonder, a sort of mystical and at the same time scientific appeal. Of course, I recognize how fortunate I am to see all of these in my lifetime. I may never have a complete understanding of how, what, or why there is, but I know that this universe exists. But most of all, as I live my quotidian life, I am always reminded of the universe that I am in. Though I am but a speck of sand, I am still a part of this large entity. My presence, though my importance is unknown to the universe, is appreciated and needed by those who are dear to me, those whom I share this world with.

And so, let us be reminded that there is a larger world out there that holds our own. And maybe, just maybe we are not alone. Think of extraterrestrials or perhaps a different entity. Regardless of your beliefs, no one can deny that there is this universe out there, and to be a part of it is something to be thankful for.

